March 3, 2010

Presidential Search

Committee seeking next university leader includes broad cross-section of the Tufts community

The Board of Trustees has appointed a search committee for the next president of Tufts University, following Lawrence S. Bacow’s announcement last month that he will step down in June 2011, after a decade leading the institution.

“The presidential search committee is faced with a very important task that will affect all of us and future members of the Tufts community,” James Stern, E72, A07P, chair of the Board of Trustees, wrote in an email to the Tufts community.

The committee will be chaired by Peter Dolan, A78, A08P, vice chair of the Board of Trustees. It will work with the executive search firm Isaacson Miller, which led the search that culminated in the selection of Bacow in 2001. Founder and principal John Isaacson will personally manage the search, Stern said.

“I have asked Peter Dolan to convene the committee immediately to begin its important work,” Stern wrote. “There will be opportunities for the Tufts community to meet with the committee and provide comments on the university’s future directions and the leadership qualities most important for our next president. These forums will be held on all three campuses.”

The committee is composed of the following members:

  • Peter R. Dolan, A78, A08P, chair of the search committee; vice chair of the Board of Trustees; managing director, PRDolan LLC; former chairman and CEO, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Julian Agyeman, professor and chair, Department of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Carla E. Brodley, professor of computer science, School of Engineering
  • Barbara E. Clarke, J88, president-elect, Tufts University Alumni Association; national director, National Alliance for Grieving Children
  • Sarah F. Habib, A11, junior from Cincinnati, Ohio, majoring in American studies with a minor in entrepreneurial leadership
  • Bernard Harleston, H98, trustee emeritus; president emeritus, City College of New York; former faculty member and dean of the faculty of Arts and Sciences, Tufts University
  • Philip G. Haydon, the Annetta and Gustav Grisard Professor and chair, Department of Neuroscience, School of Medicine
  • Deborah R. Jospin, J80, university trustee; partner and co-founder of sagawa/jospin; former director of AmeriCorps
  • Deborah T. Kochevar, dean and the Henry and Lois Foster Professor, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Brian K. Lee, A08P, A11P, vice president for University Advancement
  • Kathleen A. McCartney, J77, university trustee; dean and the Gerald S. Lesser Professor in Early Childhood Development, Graduate School of Education, Harvard University
  • Neal B. Shapiro, A80, university trustee; president and CEO, WNET.ORG
  • Alfred I. Tauber, A69, M73, university trustee; the Zoltan Kohn Professor of Medicine, Boston University School of Medicine, and professor of philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences, Boston University

The presidential search committee may be contacted confidentially at The website,, will provide updated information regarding the process.

Article Tools

emailE-mail printPrint