Nutrition leaders

Friedman School names 3 citizenship fellows

The first recipients of the Friedman Nutrition and Citizenship Fellowships were honored at a reception this fall.

Clockwise from top left, Friedman Fellows Denish Moorthy, Hilde Anne Petersen and Ashwin Mysore. © ROBERT SCHOEN

The three fellows—doctoral students Dr. Denish Moorthy, a physician who is one of India’s leading authorities on iodine deficiency disorder; Hilde Anne Petersen, an environmental educator from Cambridge, Mass.; and agricultural scientist Ashwin Mysore, who has worked with NGOs in Asia as a farming systems expert—gave presentations on their work in public health, food security and sustainable agriculture.

Entering doctoral students at the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy are chosen for the fellows program, which carries full tuition and a yearly stipend, based on their scholarship and service. The Friedman School launched the program along with the University College of Citizenship and Public Service.