Vincent Manno

Vincent P. Manno
© Mark Morelli

Manno named interim dean of engineering

Vincent P. Manno, associate dean of the School of Engineering and professor of mechanical engineering, is serving as interim dean of engineering until a new dean is appointed to succeed Ioannis N. Miaoulis, who became president of the Boston Museum of Science on January 1.

"Dr. Manno will bring vital continuity to the School of Engineering during this period," said Jamshed Bharucha, provost and senior vice president.

Bharucha has appointed a search committee to advise him on the selection of a new engineering dean. Members of the committee are:

Diane Souvaine, chair of the search committee and professor and chair of computer science

Muhammed Afsar, professor of electrical and computer engineering

Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos, professor of chemical and biological engineering

David Kaplan, professor and chair of biomedical engineering

Anil Saigal, professor and chair of mechanical engineering

Christopher Swan, associate professor and chair of civil and environmental engineering

Sergio Fantini, assistant professor of biomedical engineering

In addition, Bharucha said a student advisory committee, comprising both undergraduate and graduate students, will be established to provide student input on the appointment.

Manno, the interim dean, joined Tufts in 1984 as an assistant professor of mechanical engineering, rose to chair the department in 1993 and was named associate dean this year. He received a B.S. in nuclear engineering science from Columbia University and an M.S. and Sc.D. in nuclear engineering from MIT.

Manno's fields of expertise are computational modeling of thermal-fluid applications, including electronics cooling, thermal manufacturing and power production systems. With more than 100 journal articles and technical reports to his name, his research has been supported by several government agencies, including the National Science Foundation, as well as by private corporations. He is a member of the review committee for the Reactor Engineering Division of Argonne National Lab and has served as a U.S. Navy Senior Summer Faculty Fellow. He is a recipient of the Ralph R. Teetor Outstanding Engineering Educator Award, the 2001 Harvey Rosten Award for Excellence in the Thermal Analysis of Electronic Equipment and the 2002 American Society of Mechanical Engineers' Curriculum Innovation Award.