Active citizenship

8 faculty members named UCCPS fellows

Eight faculty members from across the university have been appointed as the second group of faculty fellows of the University College of Citizenship and Public Service (UCCPS).

UCCPS faculty fellows work to elevate education for active citizenship at Tufts. They engage in curriculum development, research and public service projects; involve undergraduate and graduate students in these projects and share the results of their projects with other faculty.

The faculty fellows appointed by Provost Jamshed Bharucha and UCCPS Dean Rob Hollister for 2003-2005 are:

Dr. Douglas Brugge, assistant professor of family medicine and community health at the School of Medicine

Christina D. Economos, assistant professor at the Gerald J. and Dorothy R. Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy

Erin Kelly, associate professor of philosophy, and Lionel McPherson, assistant professor of philosophy (shared fellowship)

Susan Ostrander, professor of sociology

Dr. Mary Rose Paradis, associate professor of clinical sciences, School of Veterinary Medicine

James Schmolze, associate professor of computer science

Jean Wu, American Studies Program

These faculty members join the initial group of faculty fellows, which includes Molly Anderson, Tufts Institute of the Environment; Richard Lerner, Bergstrom Chair in Applied Developmental Science; Miriam E. Nelson, associate professor of nutrition; Kent Portney, professor of political science; Dr. Anthony Schlaff, associate clinical professor of family medicine and community health; and Chris Swan, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering.