Journal Archive > 2002 > January

Poster competition

Charlton award winners

Forty-two students in the School of Medicine, Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Sciences and School of Dental Medicine presented research posters during the annual Charlton Poster Competition in November.

This year's winners were:

Sackler Senior Category (5th year of study or higher)

Dana Di Nino (cell biology), $500 first prize

Steve Berasi (genetics), $250 second prize

Man Huang (pharmacology) and Katie Moyer Huber (molecular biology, M.D./Ph.D. program), $50 gift certificates to Barnes and Noble

Sackler Junior Category (4th year of study or lower)
John Beaber (molecular biology), first prize

Tamar Aprahamian (cell biology), second prize

Xueyan Chen (cell biology) and Rita Laguna (molecular biology), $50 gift certificates to Barnes and Noble

Medical/Dental category (all years of study)
Francis Hsiao (first-year M.D./Ph.D. student), first prize

Wayne Chan (first-year M.D./Ph.D. student), second prize

Daniel O'Connell, M05, and Matthew Rand, D03, gift certificates

In addition, four Sackler students received Sackler Biomedical Travel Fellowship awards for $500. The program is offered in the spring and fall to students seeking funds to travel to scientific meetings in this country and abroad. The awardees are Irene Min, genetics; Lauri Laichalk, immunology; John Millholland, cell biology; and Theresa Willett, immunology.

Man Huang, a student in the Sackler pharmacology program, received $500 from the Christian Herter Fund, which is maintained by Provost Sol Gittleman's office to support student travel.